Skip to content

Bits & pieces

November 12, 2012

In 7 days’ time, I would have been working in Vietnam for 1 month roi. (Roi = already)

There are so many things I miss in Singapore. Randomly…

1) My Mum. My dog. My bedroom.- Who doesn’t miss home and everything at home?

2) Compass Point.- The familiar spot whereby I can conveniently buy most necessities under one roof.

3) Food – Starbucks. McDonald’s fries.Bak Chor Mee. Prata. Oh… bring me to Jalan Kayu NOW!

4) Transportation – For the past 6 months or more, the entire nation complains about our transportation like no business. Trains keep breaking down, buses too packed, roads too jammed. Seriously…after commuting here, you’ll learn to appreciate what we have in Singapore. I am lucky to be chauffeured around in the comfort of a car here, 90% of the time. The incessant honking by cars, motorbikes and that bloody unique descending horn sound of the public buses here… the flooding on the roads etc etc. OH GOD…

Nevertheless, there are many things here in HCMC that I love. The disturbingly affordable manicures/pedicures, massages, coffee, cigarettes etc… I’ll provide more details in future.

Having said all that, I had my first mishap during my enjoyment of beauty and wellness, yesterday. I went for a 90mins Hot Stone Massage in the afternoon. It wasn’t the best I had experienced but oh well, considering that I only spent S$15 on that session, I was thankful that I have the choice of going for a massage without batting an eyelid on the cost and not having to book in advance. HOWEVER, when I took my shower, I realized I had 2 burnt marks. YES! I was burnt by the HOT STONES. The burns flanked left and right of my back. Not cool at all. I will never ever go back to that shop again!

So you see, in Singapore, if that happens and if I am feeling bitchy, I’ll be able to kick up a huge fuss, threaten to bring the matter up to CASE and seek for compensations etc… Over here, I will have to swallow this down and get some sayang from the Hubby. (Not without him laughing at the obvious burnt marks first) SIGH. Such is life.

Alright. As usual, I leave you with a word. (two in fact, cause I taught you “Roi”, roi.)

The 2nd word of the day is “Van Phong”. Van Phong = office. (“van” “fong”) Remember that. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment